Foods To Avoid When Suffering From Wheat Allergy

Many people suffer from an allergy called wheat allergy.  This allergy is also known as wheat intolerance and is a condition which occurs when the body tends to resist a protein called gluten. Gluten is found in wheat. Most people who are suffering from wheat allergy do not know that they have wheat intolerance as it is mostly left undiagnosed.

Foods To Avoid When Suffering From Wheat Allergy

There are many results of wheat allergy in the case when it is left undiagnosed and some of them are joint pain, digestive health problems, skin rashes, chronic fatigue and even some other health issues and problems.  In case of a wheat allergy, there are certain foods that must be avoided. The following is a list of the foods to avoid when suffering from wheat allergy:

Starches and breads

Starches and most of the processed breads contain the protein called gluten which is present in wheat.  So people with wheat allergies must avoid foods such as flour tortillas, wheat, wheat based breads, crackers, chips, pretzels and cereals.  Some other foods which people with wheat intolerance must avoid are oats, barley, rye, wheat flour, kamut and triticale.

Dairy products

People with wheat allergy must also avoid eating all kinds of dairy products such as ice cream, yogurt, chocolate drink mixes, pudding, processed cheese and malted beverages. So before going for any dairy products, you must check for the labels for specific or particular wheat ingredients.  But wheat intolerance must not be confused with lactose intolerance.

Other wheat sources

Some other foods which must be avoided by a person suffering from a wheat allergy are most common meat products that contain wheat gluten.  Some examples are deli meats, pasta, rice, breaded meats, imitation meats, canned meats, hot dogs and canned sausages. Some other wheat containing foods which must be avoided or eliminated are malt liquor, beer, pickled foods, instant coffees, herb seasonings and even candy.

Thickening agents

Any food product which contains a thickening agent is mostly likely to contain gluten.  So foods such as jams, syrups, jellies, soups, seasoning mixes, steak sauces, dips and chips must be avoided as much as possible. Some other foods include cookies, cakes, fruit pies and gravies.

If you too are suffering from a wheat allergy or anyone you know has wheat intolerance, then the best thing to do is to see a doctor and get diet recommendations. The level of intolerance may vary from person to person and hence foods to avoid may also differ.

Posted in: FOOD ALLERGIES

Tags:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply