Wheat Allergies: Foods To Avoid And Alternatives

wheat allergyUnlike an mold or pollen allergies, people who have an allergy to wheat have to live with it year around.

This allergy doesn’t go away or get better as the season changes. A wheat allergy has to be managed at all times.

If you have been diagnosed with this condition, learning which foods contain wheat is very important.

Unfortunately, most food packages don’t say wheat, or wheat products, on them.

You have to learn which ingredients and foods are wheat products, and avoid them at all cost.

Common Wheat Terms and Foods

There are many terms that stand for wheat. Gluten, Vegetable starch, and Vegetable gum are all ingredients that contain wheat. If you see these ingredients listed on a food label, you should not eat the product.

You will find, with a little research, that most crackers, breads, cookies, and baked goods contain wheat.

Unless a pastry or baked food is specifically labeled to be wheat free, you will want to check the ingredients label very carefully. There are also many foods that contain wheat that seem perfectly safe.

For example, many brands of catsup and ice cream contain wheat flour. Never assume that a product is safe before checking the label.

Food Types That Commonly Contain Wheat

Eating out when you have wheat allergies can be very hard. Many cuisine types are known to contain wheat products. For example, Italian foods commonly contain wheat flour. It is common for an Italian meal to include pastas, breaded meats, and breads.

Mexican food can be an easier choice for eating out, as long as you skip the tortillas and fried foods. If in doubt, ask the wait staff to provide a list of wheat free menu choices.

Because wheat allergies are very common, many restaurants will have specific dishes that are wheat and Gluten free.

Wheat Free Alternatives

There are two common products that are marketed to be wheat substitutes. Spelt and Kamut are used by many companies as a wheat alternative.

However, both products are directly related to the wheat family, and studies show they can cause an allergic reaction.

Ingredients that are in no way related to wheat are rice, corn, tapioca, oats, and millet. These grains are not associated with, or in the family of wheat, and are perfectly safe for consumption. Some of these products can be ground into flour, and used for baking. Many people use rice flour in place of all purpose flour.

Purchasing Wheat Free Products

Because wheat allergies are one of the top eight allergies today, many stores carry wheat free products. Most large grocery stores will have an aisle dedicated to health foods, and generally carry wheat free foods.

However, an excellent selection of wheat free foods can be found in natural and whole food markets. These stores often have gluten free bakeries available. It is also possible to purchase wheat free foods online, through many companies.

Many companies will carry pastries and pizza crusts readymade for easy use. You can also purchase frozen pastries and dough, for use in your home.

Avoiding food that contains wheat is very important. If you have an allergy to wheat and wheat products, you can suffer from asthma, eczema, or in the worst case scenario anaphylaxis shock.

Posted in: FOOD ALLERGIES

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply